Dateline Sunday 16 February 2014 – Rabbi Epstein’s appointment overwhelmingly approved by community

We are delighted to tell you that, following their successful Shabbat with the community, the appointment of Rabbi and Rebbetzen Epstein as the rabbinic couple to lead our community has been overwhelmingly approved by OVER 99% of those who voted today.

Hundreds of members voted on Sunday 16 February to endorse the recommendation of the Selection Committee and the  approval of the Board of Management and it is fair to say that the community’s positive vote was nothing short of a ‘landslide’.

Rosalind Goulden, Chair of CNSS, commented:  “This is a very exciting time for us in the Cockfosters and N Southgate community as we look forward to welcoming Rabbi and Rebbetzen Epstein and their family when they join us in time for Shavuot. I am delighted that their appointment has been so overwhelmingly endorsed by the CNSS members following our rigorous selection process led so ably by Peter Musgrave.

It was abundantly clear from the application and interviews that they have the necessary skills and talents to take our community forward.  They are a couple with  academic and professional backgrounds who are dedicated to communal work and, having lived in Israel for fifteen years, will bring a new dimension to our community.  They have already impressed us, particularly over the past weekend, with their understanding of our needs in the future and they have exciting plans for a wide variety of kehillah-building projects.

In my first year as Chair of the community, I knew that appointment of a new Rabbi would be my most important challenge. I am thrilled that we have been successful in our search and thank the US for guiding us through this daunting process.  The prospect of working with Rabbi and Rebbetzen Epstein is as exhilarating  for the entire community as it is for me and the leadership team at CNSS.”

Epsteins+teamfeb14Pictured with Rabbi Daniel and Rebbetzen Ilana Epstein at the shul ‘Meet the Epsteins’ evening on 15 February are: (l to r) Peter Musgrave (chair of Selection Committee), Penny Conway (Vice-Chair of Selection Committee) Rosalind Goulden (Chair of CNSS) Anthony Israel (senior warden).  Photo : Michael Morris